The Messenger: Origins – The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

Jehovah, Satan, Man – The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly


  • Why do you call me good? No one is good except God alone. – Luke 18:19
  • Then Satan answered the Lord and said, “Skin for skin! All that a man has he will give for his life. But stretch out your hand and touch his bone and flesh, and he will curse you to your face. – Job 2:4-5
  • Behold, I was brought forth in iniquity, and in sin did my mother conceive me. – Psalms 51:5

 

“The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly” conjures up images of Clint Eastwood, Lee Van Cleef, and Eli Wallach roaming through a dusty landscape in probably the most memorable Spaghetti Western ever made, and in fact, I had this movie in mind when brainstorming this chapter. I had envisioned Tuttle being like Tuco, Jim like Blondie, and Yeshua like Angel Eyes, but then I decided it needed to go further than that. I decided that we, as human beings, have a little Blondie, Tuco, and Angel Eyes in us.

This brought me back to the thought of having a flawed good guy, an upstanding bad guy, and then that one person you just can’t really place into any role. Let’s face it, most of the world’s population doesn’t really fit into the protagonist or antagonist role. Most of us have been good and bad. So I thought, why can’t I have a protant-agonist? Yes, I think that’s a made up word. Tuttle became my protant -agonist.

I went to work developing Tuttle and felt satisfied I had developed an interesting protant-agonist. I released the book and the next thing I know I began receiving feedback from readers stating they could tell that I really liked Tuttle. I’m like “thanks,” and in my head I’m like “he’s not even the main character.” So, I went back and read the story again, and to my surprise, I had spent a bit of time developing Tuttle. I sat back and wondered how Tuttle had managed to work his way to the fore of the story. And then I realized that Tuttle is like most of us, good and bad, looking for a bit of time in the sun. The difference with Tuttle is he doesn’t take no for and answer and nobody places him in the corner.

Now, back to the chapter commentary.

As stated in the quotes at the beginning of this commentary, God is good, Satan is bad, and man is ugly. In every commentary I write some questions for thought. I guess the only question to ask here is why is humankind ugly? For this commentary and this question I would really love to receive some comments describing your thoughts.


Please take the time to like and share my Facebook author page, I’d also love to hear your comments.

Also, check out the free story “Judgment Call.” I am posting a chapter a week, so check it out!

-JW

Buy The Messenger: Origins at Amazon

JW Harrelson Facebook Author Page

Check out my Google+ Page – JW Harrelson

Follow me on Twitter @jwharrelson1

Leave a Reply

